Mavens in Schenectady This Weekend!

Saturday, April 11th at 11AM, local author Frankie Bailey will be at the Schenectady County Public Library to discuss her latest crime novel “What the Fly Saw”, which is set in Albany! Frankie is a professor at the School of Criminal Justice at the University at Albany, and is the author of the mystery “The Red Queen Dies”.

And just across town, K. A. Laity talks about another Schenectady-based writer, Kurt Vonnegut at the Schenectady County Historical Society‘s Mabee Farm Location.

Vonnegut TalkAnd don’t forget! Our Mavens meeting on April.18,2015 will be having a guest speaker:

Bob Krug is a retired Colonie Police Officer who has worked for The Colonie Police Force for 26 years. He will be discussing some of the cases he has worked. Also comparing real life Police work to what we see on television. Q&A will follow.

Walter Mosley and Frankie Y. Bailey

Red Queen

Walter Mosley, novelist, and Frankie Y. Bailey, novelist and criminal justice scholar
February 4 (Tuesday)
Seminar — 4:15 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany
Reading — 8:00 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany

Walter Mosley, bestselling author of more than 40 books, and “one of this nation’s finest writers” (Boston Globe), is America’s leading author of detective fiction in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler. Mosley is best-known for a series of mystery novels set in Los Angeles featuring African American private investigator Easy Rawlins. Mosley’s twelfth Rawlins mystery, his first in six years, is Little Green (2013). Publishers Weekly called it “superb,” and Booklist said, “The return of Easy Rawlins is a major event for crime-fiction fans.” Among his other works are Devil in a Blue Dress (1990), Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1998), Cinnamon Kiss (2005), and The Long Fall (2009).

Frankie Y. Bailey, UAlbany Criminal Justice professor and novelist, is the author most recently of The Red Queen Dies (2013), the first novel in a “near-future” police procedural series set in Albany. Booklist said that the novel’s protagonist, detective Hannah McCabe, “shows she has what it takes to succeed at her work and to win readers.” Bailey’s earlier books include Wicked Albany: Lawlessness & Liquor in the Prohibition Era (with Alice Green, 2009); African American Mystery Writers (2008); and the Edgar-nominated Out of the Woodpile: Black Characters in Crime and Detective Fiction (1991). She is also the author of five books in the Silver Dagger mystery series, featuring crime historian Lizzie Stuart.

Book Launch: The Red Queen Dies

Follow the White Rabbit to an UnBirthday Party

Red Queen

Where:  The Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza, Albany, New York

What:  Book launch party to celebrate the publication of The Red Queen Dies, the first book in my new near- future police procedural series set in Albany (a parallel universe/alternate reality version).  As you might have guessed from the cover, the book has an Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass theme. So does the party.

Who:  You’re invited. Feel free to share the invitation with friends. I have a big cake.

When:  Saturday, September 14, 2013, starting at 3 PM

Why:  Because there’ll be food, drink, a door prize, and volunteers who have agreed to read scenes from the book. You’ll have fun.

All the best,

Frankie Y. Bailey