TODAY: Murderous March!

Murderous March Writers & Readers Confab

Saturday, March 24, 2-4 PM
East Greenbush Community Library

RSVP to assure a seat at this free event:

Fans and creators of the mystery, detective and crime genres: Join Mavens of Mayhem at the East Greenbush Community Library for an afternoon of enlightening talk about the craft.

PROGRAM

1:45-4:15 Refreshments, Mavens of Mayhem member book sale

1:45-2:10 Registration

2:15-3:00 “Bringing out the Mystery Within”
Panel discussion and audience Q & A, featuring
Published authors Robert Knightly, Carol Pouliot, Kate Laity, and Frankie Bailey. Moderated by Michael Catoggio, mystery researcher and reference librarian

3:00-3:15 Stretch and Schmooze

3:15-4:00 Workshops

  • Finding My Next Great Read — Laurie Dreyer and Rhonda Rosenheck
  • Squeezing the Book In — K.A. Laity
  • When I Die, Clear my Browser History (Research for Mystery/Crime Writers) — Michael Catoggio

Presenters

frankie bailey LAITY author photo robertknightly carol_pouliot_author

Frankie BaileyK.A. LaityRobert Knightly, and Carol Pouliot are published authors who live in or near New York’s Upper Hudson region. Frankie Bailey is President of the Mavens of Mayhem and all are active members.

Michael Catoggio conducts research for mystery writers and others, a fun and natural outcome of his long career as a research librarian. He also teaches many popular writing and research workshops.

Laurie Dreyer is Adult Programming Librarian at the East Greenbush Community Library. Rhonda Rosenheck is Mavens of Mayhem treasurer, a published author of poetry and humor, and a voracious reader of detective fiction.

This confab is cohosted by the EGCL (eastgreenbushlibrary.org) and Mavens of Mayhem (upperhudsonsinc.com), Sisters in Crime’s Upper Hudson chapter. The Mavens meet monthly and welcome writers and readers.

Advertisements

Murderous March Writers & Readers Confab

Mavens of MayhemMurderous March Writers & Readers Confab

Saturday, March 24, 2-4 PM
East Greenbush Community Library

RSVP to assure a seat at this free event:

Fans and creators of the mystery, detective and crime genres: Join Mavens of Mayhem at the East Greenbush Community Library for an afternoon of enlightening talk about the craft.

PROGRAM

1:45-4:15 Refreshments, Mavens of Mayhem member book sale

1:45-2:10 Registration

2:15-3:00 “Bringing out the Mystery Within”
Panel discussion and audience Q & A, featuring
Published authors Robert Knightly, Carol Pouliot, Kate Laity, and Frankie Bailey. Moderated by Michael Catoggio, mystery researcher and reference librarian

3:00-3:15 Stretch and Schmooze

3:15-4:00 Workshops

  • Finding My Next Great Read — Laurie Dreyer and Rhonda Rosenheck
  • Squeezing the Book In — K.A. Laity
  • When I Die, Clear my Browser History (Research for Mystery/Crime Writers) — Michael Catoggio

Presenters

frankie bailey LAITY author photo robertknightly carol_pouliot_author

Frankie Bailey, K.A. Laity, Robert Knightly, and Carol Pouliot are published authors who live in or near New York’s Upper Hudson region. Frankie Bailey is President of the Mavens of Mayhem and all are active members.

Michael Catoggio conducts research for mystery writers and others, a fun and natural outcome of his long career as a research librarian. He also teaches many popular writing and research workshops.

Laurie Dreyer is Adult Programming Librarian at the East Greenbush Community Library. Rhonda Rosenheck is Mavens of Mayhem treasurer, a published author of poetry and humor, and a voracious reader of detective fiction.

This confab is cohosted by the EGCL (eastgreenbushlibrary.org) and Mavens of Mayhem (upperhudsonsinc.com), Sisters in Crime’s Upper Hudson chapter. The Mavens meet monthly and welcome writers and readers.

February Meeting: True Crime with Frankie Bailey

Sisters in Crime February Meeting
February 17, 2018
11 AM
Community Room
Bethlehem Public Library
451 Delaware Avenue, Delmar

frankie_bailey_27112_0

The Hendrickson Murder Trial: A Case of Poisoning?

University at Albany School of Criminal Justice professor and mystery writer Frankie Y. Bailey presents a true crime case. In 1853, in Bethlehem, New York, John Hendrickson was accused of poisoning his young wife, Maria. Hendrickson was tried, convicted, and executed based on the testimony of expert witnesses. Bailey discusses the social and historical context and the medical jurisprudence issues raised regarding this often-cited case.

Free and open to the public. Join us for coffee and mysteries.

October 21st Meeting

Jenny Milchman

June Meeting

Thanks for the photo, Debbie!
Thanks for the photo, Debbie!

Greeting all,

Monthly meeting is June 18, 10:30 am in the Bethlehem Library.

This is our ‘our nuts and bolts class’ so come prepared with questions and experiences.

See you Saturday!

May Meeting

Thanks for the photo, Debbie!
Thanks for the photo, Debbie!

Greeting all,

Monthly meeting tomorrow, May 16, 10:30 am in the Bethlehem Library.

This month we are featuring our own members talking about their favorite mysteries and why they like them. What makes a good mystery? What makes you want to turn the page and what is a big turn off. These questions and more will be answered. Also a reminder that in July we will be having our Picnic so think of some salads, sneaks, desserts and other picnic items to bring. See you Saturday!

Walter Mosley and Frankie Y. Bailey

Red Queen

Walter Mosley, novelist, and Frankie Y. Bailey, novelist and criminal justice scholar
February 4 (Tuesday)
Seminar — 4:15 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany
Reading — 8:00 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany

Walter Mosley, bestselling author of more than 40 books, and “one of this nation’s finest writers” (Boston Globe), is America’s leading author of detective fiction in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler. Mosley is best-known for a series of mystery novels set in Los Angeles featuring African American private investigator Easy Rawlins. Mosley’s twelfth Rawlins mystery, his first in six years, is Little Green (2013). Publishers Weekly called it “superb,” and Booklist said, “The return of Easy Rawlins is a major event for crime-fiction fans.” Among his other works are Devil in a Blue Dress (1990), Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1998), Cinnamon Kiss (2005), and The Long Fall (2009).

Frankie Y. Bailey, UAlbany Criminal Justice professor and novelist, is the author most recently of The Red Queen Dies (2013), the first novel in a “near-future” police procedural series set in Albany. Booklist said that the novel’s protagonist, detective Hannah McCabe, “shows she has what it takes to succeed at her work and to win readers.” Bailey’s earlier books include Wicked Albany: Lawlessness & Liquor in the Prohibition Era (with Alice Green, 2009); African American Mystery Writers (2008); and the Edgar-nominated Out of the Woodpile: Black Characters in Crime and Detective Fiction (1991). She is also the author of five books in the Silver Dagger mystery series, featuring crime historian Lizzie Stuart.