Mavens in the Library by Carol Derfner

Thanks for the photo, Debbie!
Thanks for the photo, Debbie!

An enthusiastic audience of crime and mystery writers and readers in the Capital Region braved frigid temperatures to gather in the Greenbush Community Library on January 31st to listen to six longtime Mavens members share their personal experiences and insights into what it takes to successfully become a published author in the genre. The afternoon’s panelists included:

  • Frankie Bailey, a professor of criminal justice at the University of New York at Albany and the author of 7 mystery novels (the newest, “What The Fly Saw” comes out next month) encouraged aspiring writers to join organizations like Sisters In Crime and Mystery Writers of America and to attend conference and workshops to be inspired and learn from the efforts of other writers;
  • Robert Knightly, former LAPD police officer and lawyer for the New York City Legal Aid Society, is the author of two police procedurals, “Bodies In Winter” and a sequel, “The Cold Room” spoke of the need to have confidence in your story and to persevere in spite of receiving rejections by potential publishers;
  • Eleanor Kuhns spoke of winning the coveted MinotaurBooks/MWA First Crime Novel Competition in 2011 for her Shaker-inspired “A Simple Murder” and outlined how she uses research in her writing;
  • Donna Lagone, current President and author of the recently published novel “Reflections” advised using the services of an agent as well an attorney to assist with the contractual matters required when working with publishers;
  • Susan Sundwall, gave the audience an overview of how she has handled the publication and sales of her Minnie Markwood comic-cozy series without using an agent; and,
  • Kate Laity, Associate Professor of English at the College of St. Rose, the author of “White Rabbit” and the Chastity Flame series, described how she writes and publishes in a number of different genres and admonished the audience to finish one’s writing projects!

Moderated by Jeanette  Whitbeck and organized by June Kosier, the event was lively and engaging as well informative. And June’s exhibit highlighting the chapter’s authors was well worth taking a trip to the library in East Greenbush!

17 January 2015 Meeting

Thanks for the photo, Debbie!
Photo by Debbie Rickes

Coming up at our January meeting (3rd Saturday, Bethlehem Library, 10:30 am):

Author Promotion: Ten Tips & The One Folder You Need On Your Desktop

Don’t be fooled, there isn’t a secret formula to becoming “a bestselling author”. There are principles that make the process easier, however. Discover the marketing and promotion guideposts that have helped make Bold Strokes Books the world’s largest and most successful publisher of LGBT genre fiction.

Presenter Joel Gomez-Dossi came to journalism by way of theater, television, and digital media production. He was a stage manager for several theaters in the Mid and Southwest; a producer for television projects; and a production manager for the Emmy Award-winning PBS science series, Newton’s Apple. He has written about film and theater for many regional publications across the country, and penned an entertainment column for the queer press that ran in twelve states. His third novel, Lethal Elements, published by Bold Strokes Books, will be available this August.

Don’t forget! Upcoming events:

Mavens will be appearing at the Nassau Library, Monday 26 Jan at 6pm: confirmed so far Frankie Y. Bailey and K. A. Laity

The big event: Panel Discussion & Book Signing at East Greenbush Library on Saturday 31 Jan at noon. Join our Facebook event to get the latest information! Download & print the flyer here.

Walter Mosley and Frankie Y. Bailey

Red Queen

Walter Mosley, novelist, and Frankie Y. Bailey, novelist and criminal justice scholar
February 4 (Tuesday)
Seminar — 4:15 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany
Reading — 8:00 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany

Walter Mosley, bestselling author of more than 40 books, and “one of this nation’s finest writers” (Boston Globe), is America’s leading author of detective fiction in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler. Mosley is best-known for a series of mystery novels set in Los Angeles featuring African American private investigator Easy Rawlins. Mosley’s twelfth Rawlins mystery, his first in six years, is Little Green (2013). Publishers Weekly called it “superb,” and Booklist said, “The return of Easy Rawlins is a major event for crime-fiction fans.” Among his other works are Devil in a Blue Dress (1990), Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1998), Cinnamon Kiss (2005), and The Long Fall (2009).

Frankie Y. Bailey, UAlbany Criminal Justice professor and novelist, is the author most recently of The Red Queen Dies (2013), the first novel in a “near-future” police procedural series set in Albany. Booklist said that the novel’s protagonist, detective Hannah McCabe, “shows she has what it takes to succeed at her work and to win readers.” Bailey’s earlier books include Wicked Albany: Lawlessness & Liquor in the Prohibition Era (with Alice Green, 2009); African American Mystery Writers (2008); and the Edgar-nominated Out of the Woodpile: Black Characters in Crime and Detective Fiction (1991). She is also the author of five books in the Silver Dagger mystery series, featuring crime historian Lizzie Stuart.

Fellow Authors Chat After Mavens of Mayhem Meeting

Denis & Frankie 1.18.14

Mystery writer and criminal justice scholar Frankie Y. Bailey (L) poses with Denis Foley, scholar and author of Lemuel Smith: The Compulsion to Kill.

Troy Author Day

troyauthorday_logofinThe Troy Public Library is hosting Troy Author Day on Saturday, October 19th from 12-3 pm. Many local authors will be featured, including our own Frankie Y. Bailey. The event is free and open to the public. For more information, visit the Troy Author Day website.

Book Launch: The Red Queen Dies

Follow the White Rabbit to an UnBirthday Party

Red Queen

Where:  The Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza, Albany, New York

What:  Book launch party to celebrate the publication of The Red Queen Dies, the first book in my new near- future police procedural series set in Albany (a parallel universe/alternate reality version).  As you might have guessed from the cover, the book has an Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass theme. So does the party.

Who:  You’re invited. Feel free to share the invitation with friends. I have a big cake.

When:  Saturday, September 14, 2013, starting at 3 PM

Why:  Because there’ll be food, drink, a door prize, and volunteers who have agreed to read scenes from the book. You’ll have fun.

All the best,

Frankie Y. Bailey