Walter Mosley and Frankie Y. Bailey

Red Queen

Walter Mosley, novelist, and Frankie Y. Bailey, novelist and criminal justice scholar
February 4 (Tuesday)
Seminar — 4:15 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany
Reading — 8:00 p.m., Recital Hall, Performing Arts Center, Uptown Campus, SUNY Albany

Walter Mosley, bestselling author of more than 40 books, and “one of this nation’s finest writers” (Boston Globe), is America’s leading author of detective fiction in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler. Mosley is best-known for a series of mystery novels set in Los Angeles featuring African American private investigator Easy Rawlins. Mosley’s twelfth Rawlins mystery, his first in six years, is Little Green (2013). Publishers Weekly called it “superb,” and Booklist said, “The return of Easy Rawlins is a major event for crime-fiction fans.” Among his other works are Devil in a Blue Dress (1990), Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1998), Cinnamon Kiss (2005), and The Long Fall (2009).

Frankie Y. Bailey, UAlbany Criminal Justice professor and novelist, is the author most recently of The Red Queen Dies (2013), the first novel in a “near-future” police procedural series set in Albany. Booklist said that the novel’s protagonist, detective Hannah McCabe, “shows she has what it takes to succeed at her work and to win readers.” Bailey’s earlier books include Wicked Albany: Lawlessness & Liquor in the Prohibition Era (with Alice Green, 2009); African American Mystery Writers (2008); and the Edgar-nominated Out of the Woodpile: Black Characters in Crime and Detective Fiction (1991). She is also the author of five books in the Silver Dagger mystery series, featuring crime historian Lizzie Stuart.

On the Docket for February’s Mavens of Mayhem Meeting

On Saturday, February 15, Stephen Koonz, MA., MSW will present “Labeling the Persons with Mental Illness as Violent: Portrayal of Persons with Mental Illness in Literature”

Recently retired after 33 years of service with the NYS Office of Mental Health, Stephen Koonz spent twenty-five in direct clinical practice with a forensic mental health population (often sex offenders) with concomitant substance abuse issues. His work involved sex offender evaluations for the Sexually Violent Predator initiative under Governor Pataki and with the passage of the Sex Offender Management and Treatment Act, overseeing clinical and operations for sex offender treatment programs. Most recently he initiated and oversaw sex offender management of insanity acquittals and those determined unfit to stand trial. With master’s degrees in both criminal justice and social work, Steve teaches at local colleges on related topics, including sex offenders, forensic mental health, the mentally ill offender, criminology, corrections, juvenile delinquency, a survey of social work theory and practice, the nature of crime, and power and privilege.

The Maven’s meeting will be held at the Bethlehem Public Library in Delmar (451 Delaware Avenue). The meeting starts at 10:30 am, and the program will begin at 11:00 am.

Fellow Authors Chat After Mavens of Mayhem Meeting

Denis & Frankie 1.18.14

Mystery writer and criminal justice scholar Frankie Y. Bailey (L) poses with Denis Foley, scholar and author of Lemuel Smith: The Compulsion to Kill.

Mavens Member Nominated!

Mavens member Jenny Milchman has been nominated for the Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award for her first book Cover of Snow. The winner will be announced during Edgars Week at the MWA’s Agents and Editors party on Wednesday, April 30, 2014. Congratulations and best of luck, Jenny!

Image

True Crime on Tap for January Meeting

The Upper Hudson Chapter of Sisters in Crime (The Mavens of Mayhem) will meet on Saturday, January 18 at 10:30 am at The Bethlehem Public Library (451 Delaware Ave., Delmar). Denis Foley, scholar, author, and Delmar resident, will speak about the genre of True Crime.  HIs talk will include his research and writing about two Capital Region criminals: Lemuel Smith and “Legs” Diamond.

Dr. Foley, a scholar of anthropology, archaeology, and criminal justice, served most recently as a public anthropologist with the Lewis Henry Morgan Institute at the SUNY Institute of Technology, curating many exhibits, such as the Friends Exhibit, about the tragic 2000 Colgate accident. He is the author of  Lemuel Smith: The Compulsion to Kill and is currently working on a book about “Legs “ Diamond.

The meeting is free and open to the public.